Legendary Art Journalist Milton Esterow: A Life Dedicated to ARTNews

Legendary Art Journalist Milton Esterow: A Life Dedicated to ARTNews

Today we have a very special episode in store! We are so lucky to welcome the one and only Milton Esterow for his first podcast interview ever!

Milton Esterow, long time publisher of ARTnews set the standard of investigative journalism in the art world. He is one of the foremost innovators in art journalism.

Milton Esterow, Publisher of ARTNews
Milton Esterow
artnews magazine cover with Jasper Johns
ARTnews cover featuring Jasper Johns
Pablo Picasso on the cover of ARTNews
art news cover art
ARTNews Covers

Growing up in Brooklyn and starting out in 1945 at the New York Times, Milton has seen more than most and his perspective on art and creativity is invaluable to a younger generation.

Having found his niche in cultural news, Milton bought ARTNews in 1972 and ran it as publisher and editor-in-chief for 42 years, building it into the world’s largest circulated arts magazine.

milton esterow
Legendary Art Journalist Milton Esterow shares his story with NOT REAL ART
Personal photos of Milton with Henry Moore, Robert Rauschenberg, Ansel Adams and others.

Milton has won numerous awards and accolades, is a prolific author and renowned voice in the art world. In our conversation, we cover a huge amount of knowledge, with Milton sprouting multitudes of anecdotes and stories from his amazing career. For this great chat with a beautiful human being, be sure to listen in today!

Art Legend Milton Esterow with NOT REAL ART Creator, Scott "Sourdough" Power

Key Points From Milton Esterow's Episode:

• Milton's lifelong mission with the artworks that were stolen by the Nazi's in WW II.

• How Milton learned to play a shofar for a very special occasion!

• Milton's early interest in writing and art from his school days.

• Perspectives on objectivity and the requirement to serve readers.

• Questions of authenticity and a crazy story about a Picasso knock-off!

• Demystifying art and creativity and leveling art for world everyone's benefit.

• The trends that come and go in the art world; today's gold might turn to dust.

• Critics do not make or break careers; time reveals all greatness.

• An unusual art collector who paired Van Gogh with Frank Sinatra.

• Art as a means to gaining a fuller enjoyment of life than would be otherwise possible.

• Milton's thoughts and reflection on the art world at present.

• A few special dinner stories from over the years from Milton!

• Milton's memories of Alfred Hitchcock on the set of The Wrong Man.

• The beginnings of Milton's work at ARTnews and the legacy he has created.

• Milton's own collection and his passion for great photography.

• Secrets to a long and healthy life from a 91 year old!

• Advice to young artists around the struggle and difficulty of finding success.

Links Mentioned in this Episode:

Milton Esterow — http://www.artnews.com/author/milton_esterow/

The New York Times — https://www.nytimes.com/

ARTnews — http://www.artnews.com/

Vanity Fair — https://www.vanityfair.com/

Leonard Lauder — https://www.forbes.com/profile/leonard-lauder/

Rembrandt — https://www.britannica.com/biography/Rembrandt-van-Rijn

Auguste Rodin — https://www.theartstory.org/artist/rodin-auguste/

Henri Matisse — https://www.henrimatisse.org/

Mark Rothko — https://www.moma.org/artists/5047

Pablo Picasso — https://www.pablopicasso.org/

American Gothichttps://www.artic.edu/artworks/6565/american-gothic

Grant Wood — https://www.theartstory.org/artist/wood-grant/

Harold Schonberg — https://www.nytimes.com/2003/07/27/nyregion/harold-c-schonberg-87-dies-won-pulitzer-prize-as-music-critic-for-the-times.html

Leonard Bernstein — https://leonardbernstein.com/

Death of a Salesman — https://www.bbc.com/news/entertainment-arts-50301232

Expulsion of Adam and Eve from Edenhttp://www.italianrenaissance.org/masaccios-expulsion-of-adam-and-eve-from-eden/

Edith Halpert — https://www.artsy.net/article/artsy-editorial-pioneering-dealer-edith-halpert-championed-american-artists-fashionable

Wall Street Journal — https://www.wsj.com/

Alfred Hitchcock — https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0000033/

The Wrong Man — https://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/1024191_wrong_man

Robert Doisneau — https://www.moma.org/artists/1573

Leonardo da Vinci — https://www.leonardodavinci.net/

Julian Schnabel — http://www.julianschnabel.com/

Jeff Koons — http://www.jeffkoons.com/

Man One — http://www.manone.com/

Man One on Twitter — https://twitter.com/ManOneArt

Scott “Sourdough” Power — https://www.instagram.com/sourdoughpower/

Not Real Art Conference — https://www.notrealartconference.com/

Not Real Art on Instagram — https://www.instagram.com/notrealartofficial/

Scott Power

Scott "Sourdough" Power, Creator of NOT REAL ART

>
154 Shares
Tweet
Share
Pin
Share154