No Shortcuts: Special Guest Kristin Juel, Founder of Juel Concepts

Kristin Juel of Juel Concepts

On today's episode of the Not Real Art Podcast, Sourdough is joined by Kristin Juel, who runs Juel Concepts, an artist management company for musicians with an exciting small roster of youngish artists. Kristin and Sourdough actually worked together for quite a few years a while back at Kaiser Permanente and have been friends for more than 15 years at this point! They chat about their history together, life in brand management and the commitment it takes to make it in the creative world today. They discuss the tools of the trade, her team at Juel Concepts and just how exciting it is getting to work with people with as much talent as her current artist roster. Kristin has strived to build a family environment with her company and close knit team, and she unpacks the challenges and rewards she has faced in this pursuit. The conversation also covers networking, promotion and why it is so important to be able to articulate yourself when talking about your own art. For all this and a whole lot more, be sure to tune in!

HA+-++OOMH+DIGITAL+COVER+ART.jpg

Key Points From This Episode: 

•    Where the Sourdough moniker comes from.

•    The work that Kristin and Scott did together from 2004 to 2013. 

•    Brand strategizing with musicians and Kristin's eclectic career. 

•    The long and hard path to a successful creative life. 

•    Beginning work with Hamish Anderson.

•    Finding the right people to partner with, through thick and thin.

•    Kristin's amazing, global team.

•    Is it the best time in history to be an artist?

•    The intangibility of most of today's music world.

•    Transparency, honest communication and real time feedback. 

•    Kristin's work process and the flow of her company.  

•    Musical prodigies, hard work and the balance between practice and talent. 

•    Networking, self-promotion and explaining your craft.

•    Building a strong peer-group and support structure.

•    And much more!

 

Links Mentioned in Today’s Episode:

Kristin Juel — https://www.linkedin.com/in/kristinjuel

Juel Concepts — http://juelconcepts.com

Kaiser Permanente — https://healthy.kaiserpermanente.org

Lyle Lovett — https://www.lylelovett.com

Chiat Day — http://tbwachiatday.com

Gary Clark Jnr. — http://www.garyclarkjr.com

Hamish Anderson — http://www.hamishandersonmusic.com

Ruby Velle & the Soulphonics— http://www.rubyvelleandthesoulphonics.com

Jessica Childress — https://www.jessicachildressmusic.com

Ludwig Drums — https://www.ludwig-drums.com

Kii Arens — https://kiiarens.com

Perry Shall — http://www.perryshall.com

Slack — https://slack.com

Asana — https://asana.com

Man One — http://www.manone.com/

Man One on Twitter — https://twitter.com/ManOneArt

Scott “Sourdough” Power — https://www.instagram.com/sourdoughpower/

Not Real Art Conference — https://www.notrealartconference.com/

Not Real Art on Instagram — https://www.instagram.com/notrealartofficial/